Journal of Indian Cinema

Vol. 1. Iss. 11 | November 2019

Film Critics Circle of India

The 1st International Film Festival of India, 1952

Gautam Kaul | Nov 20

I missed the first International Film Festival of India, because I was too young to be allowed to see the festival films. There was a precondition that only ‘adults’ were allowed to see the programmes. I had to wait my time…  To say the least, this film festival was poorly archived for future generations. As we approach this year, marking the fiftieth edition of the international film festival of India, there is a major problem to find those who were there in the crowd…

… At the conclusion of the travelling Festival, there was widespread opinion that the exposure of film artists and technicians of the Indian film industry to the works of international cinema was meaningful and an eye opener. Film Yukiwarisoo was immediately made into an Indian clone called Bhagyawaan. The neo realist Italian cinema influenced Bimal Roy and his friends and they went on to make the celebrated Do Bigha Zameen. Raj Kapoor armed with his IPTA membership, financed Boot Polish…

.. At the end of this film jamboree, the Indian government could not make up its mind whether to make the event an annual feature for India or not. The original festival had been bannered as ‘International Film Festival’ or “IFF”. In the intervening years, the government was told to call it the International Film Festival of India or IFFI. This was the first film festival in Asia, and the third in the world after Venice and Cannes.



On the history and importance of film festivals

Anirban Lahiri | Nov 20

In the Indian subcontinent, the tradition of film festivals goes back to 1952, when the first International Film Festival of India (IFFI) took place, in Mumbai. It gave birth to a new league of Indian filmmakers, such as the Bengali trio Satyajit Ray, Ritwik Ghatak and Mrinal Sen, who would revolutionize Indian cinema, in the following decades….

… Only festivals have the magic to offer a sense of euphoria to budding filmmakers.



IFFI at 50 — a reality check

S Viswanath | Nov 20

It is time the powers that be and well-wishers of cinema as a pure play art form where the aesthetic, creative and best of cinemas showcased ensure the best of talents also make it a point to attend and savour the magic and marvel of movies…

… IFFI, has been assiduously providing a common platform for cinemas of the world to project the excellence of film art; contributing to understanding and appreciation of film cultures of different nations in the context of their social and cultural ethos.


Women in cinema
All is not fair in cinema     Ashameera Aiyappan
Shout out loud     Deepa Gahlot
The Damsel in Distress: Women portrayal in cinema     Ashameera Aiyappan
Festival circuit Film reviews
Aamis | Bhaskar Hazarika     Tanul Thakur
Action | Sundar C     Baradwaj Rangan
Adithya Varma | Gireesaaya     Baradwaj Rangan
Adithya Varma | Gireesaya     Ashameera Aiyappan
Android Kunjappan Version 5.25 | Ratheesh Poduval     Baradwaj Rangan
Android Kunjappan Version 5.25 | Ratheesh Poduval     Cris
Android Kunjappan Version 5.25 | Ratheesh Poduval     Sajin Shrijith
Bala | Amar Kaushik     Saibal Chatterjee
Bala | Amar Kaushik     Sukanya Verma
Bala | Amar Kaushik     Tanul Thakur
Bypass Road | Naman Nitin Mukesh     Sukanya Verma
Commando 3 | Aditya Datt     Rahul Desai
Commando 3 | Aditya Datt     Saibal Chatterjee
Drive | Tarun Mansukhani     Saibal Chatterjee
Drive | Tarun Mansukhani     Sukanya Verma
Duck Butter | Miguel Arteta     Rahul Desai
Enai Noki Paayum Thota | Gautham Vasudev Menon     Ashameera Aiyappan
Enai Noki Paayum Thota | Gautham Vasudev Menon     Baradwaj Rangan
Frozen 2 | Jennifer Lee and Chris Buck     Saibal Chatterjee
Happy Sardar | Sudip Joshy & Geethika Sudip     Sajin Shrijith
Helen | Mathukutty Xavier     Baradwaj Rangan
Helen | Mathukutty Xavier     Cris
Helen | Mathukutty Xavier     Sajin Shrijith
Hexing | Christophe Lenoir     Johnson Thomas
Hotel Mumbai | Anthony Maras     Rahul Desai
Hotel Mumbai | Anthony Maras     Saibal Chatterjee
Hotel Mumbai | Anthony Maras     Sukanya Verma
Kamala | Ranjith Sankar     Cris
Kastoori | Vinod Kamble     Baradwaj Rangan
KD Engira Karuppudurai | Madhumitha     Baradwaj Rangan
Kettyolaanu Ente Malakha | Nissam Basheer     Sajin Shrijith
Marjaavaan | Milap Zaveri     Rahul Desai
Marjaavaan | Milap Zaveri     Saibal Chatterjee
Marjaavaan | Milap Zaveri     Sukanya Verma
Moothon | Geethu Mohandas     Cris
Moothon | Geethu Mohandas     Sajin Shrijith
Motichoor Chaknachoor | Debamitra Biswal     Rahul Desai
Motichoor Chaknachoor | Debamitra Biswal     Saibal Chatterjee
Motichoor Chaknachoor | Debamitra Biswal     Sukanya Verma
Motichoor Chaknachoor | Debamitra Biswal     Tanul Thakur
Ordinary Love | Lisa Barros D'Sa & Glenn Leyburn     Rahul Desai
Pagalpanti | Anees Bazmee     Rahul Desai
Pagalpanti | Anees Bazmee     Saibal Chatterjee
Pagalpanti | Anees Bazmee     Sukanya Verma
Sangathamizhan | Vijay Chandar     Baradwaj Rangan
Terminator: Dark Fate | Tim Miller     Baradwaj Rangan
Terminator: Dark Fate | Tim Miller     MK Raghavendra
Terminator: Dark Fate | Tim Miller     Saibal Chatterjee
The Irishman | Martin Scorsese     Rahul Desai
The Irishman | Martin Scorsese     Tanul Thakur
Ujda Chaman | Pathak, Danish Singh & Navinder Singh     Sukanya Verma
Underworld | Arun Kumar Aravind     Cris
Underworld | Arun Kumar Aravind     Sajin Shrijith
Vaarthakal Ithuvare | Manoj Nair     Cris
Vaarthakal Ithuvare | Manoj Nair     Sajin Shrijith
Yeh Saali Aashiqui | Cherag Ruparel     Sukanya Verma
Review - short fiction/web series List
The 100 greatest films directed by women     Utpal Borpujari, Manoj Barpujari, Utpal Datta, Madhu Eravankara, et al
The best 200 Indian films of the decade     Aseem Chhabra
Feature Interview Music

Kautik International Film Festival

Moinok Guhu’s An Irrelevant Dialogue and Kuldeep Sah Gangola’s Ghost Villages are the winners of the FCCI Award for Best Indian Short Fiction and Best Indian Documentary, respectively, at the Kautik International Film Festival.

Gautam Kaul (chair), Parthajit Baruah, and Deepa Gahlot comprised the 3-member critics jury.


Journal of Indian Cinema

Vol. 1. Iss. 01–29.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This
Skip to toolbar